Since 2009 Porfiriadis convened a number of improvisation and experimental music workshops in academic and non-academic contexts in Greece and Cyprus. The last 4 years his workshop is part of the workshop program of the Nakas Conservatory in Athens. The members of the 2014-16 class presented some of the most demanding verbal and graphic scores like Edges by Christian Wolff, But what about the noise by John Cage, Paragraph 6 from the Great Learning by Cornelius Cardew in a concert in Nakas Conservatory Athens.


6daEXIt Improvisation Ensemble
The improvisation classes held by A.Porfiriadis in the Music Department of Aristotle University of Thessaloniki during the years 2005-2009 was the basis for the foundation of 6daEXIt Improvisation Ensemble from him and a small number of students. Since its foundation in 2007, 6daEXIt is developed in one of the most important improvisation groups in Greece, with dozens of live performances and weekly meetings.

6daEXIt Improvisation Ensemble [2007 - ongoing]
Check our activities here.

Seul à 3 
Between 2009 and 2010 Porfiriadis was a member of the improvisation trio Seul à 3, together with Natasa Mare Moumtzidou and Danae Stefanou.

Seul à 3 improvisation trio (Danae Stefanou, Natassa Mare Moumtzidou, Alexis Porfiriadis)live in Thessaloniki, Mikro Theatro, 08.05.2009

Open Score Project
Porfiriadis was also a co-founder of Open Score Project. The group presented in concerts in Athens open form compositions that involved different levels of indeterminacy and/or improvisation (e.g. compositions by Earle Brown, John Cage, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Christian Wolff, George Brecht, James Saunders and Douglas Barrett). 

Porfiriadis collaborates since 2004 with the austrian painter Manfred Url. They created the music/painting improvisation project 'Klangbilder', which they presented in Austria, Greece and Serbia.

Klangbilder Project (Manfred Url, live painting - Alexis Porfiriadis, Piano Improvisation
1.Belgrad, 18/10/2010
2. Belgrad, 19/10/2010
3. Manfred Url paints with Alexis Porfiriadis' piece Quatre pour Six - Musique pour 4 Saxophones, Graz/Austria, 2008